Health and social care staff shine in the spotlight

Published: 13 May 2014

NHS staff and volunteers from across Torbay and Southern Devon have been recognised at an awards ceremony celebrating their hard work and dedication to health and social care.

The Blue Shield awards ceremony, which took place last week, was the fourth joint awards ceremony hosted by Torbay and Southern Devon Health and Care NHS Trust and South Devon Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, which runs Torbay Hospital. The awards aim to recognise individuals or groups whose energy, commitment and dedication ensures that high quality and effective services are delivered to patients, services user and staff.

The event, which was held at Torquay’s Riviera International Conference Centre, saw around 300 members of staff, volunteers and their guests turn out to see the winners announced. Nominations are made anonymously, by both members of the public and by staff, and are judged by a panel of experts and independent members.

There were 22 winners and 18 highly commended awards across 12 categories, including individual, team, partnership, sustainability, equality and diversity, volunteer and lifetime achievement.

Certificates were presented by Mandy Seymour (Chief Executive) and Dr Jon Andrewes (Acting Chair) of Torbay and Southern Devon Health and Care NHS Trust, and Dr John Lowes (Interim Chief Executive) and Sally Taylor (Non-Executive Director) of South Devon Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust.

Mandy Seymour, Chief Executive at Torbay and Southern Devon Health and Care NHS Trust, said: “I would like to congratulate everyone who received an award at this year’s ceremony, as well as all those who were nominated. It really is a privilege to work with people who are so dedicated, enthusiastic and committed to providing high quality health and social care to the people of Torbay and Southern Devon.

“Our staff and volunteers are at the very heart of the organisation and the Blue Shield Awards ceremony is an excellent way to recognise those who excel at what they do.”

Dr John Lowes, Interim Chief Executive for South Devon Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust said: “I am incredibly proud of all staff working at the Hospital but to have the opportunity to reward those people who are making a real difference to patients and staff is truly heart-warming.

“Everybody that was nominated and shortlisted deserves a big ‘thank you’ for their hard work and commitment to offering high quality health services. All of the award winners deserve recognition for their exceptional dedication to the health service.”

Below is the list of winners and highly commended for both Trusts:

Award category


Highly Commended

Individual Carers Award

Kevin Dixon

Nikki Stewart

Team Carers Award

Young Adult Operational Group

  • Dartmouth Caring
  • Torbay Carers Register Management Group

Individual Non Clinical (TSDHCT)

Adam Wood

  • Lindsey Lovell
  • Gary Kennington

Individual Non Clinical (SDHFT)

Elaine Churchward

Linda Howarth

Individual Clinical (TSDHCT)

Dawn Thomas

Tracey McKenzie

Individual Clinical (SDHFT)

Lee Merry

  • Nicky Glover
  • Stephen Harris

Team Non Clinical Awards (TSDHCT)

Telecare and Commercial Activity

Business Planning and Performance Team

Team Non Clinical Awards (SDHFT)

Day Surgery Reception Team

South Devon HIS Team

Team Clinical Awards (TSDHCT)

Newton Abbot Intermediate Care

Rapid Response Southern

Team Clinical Awards (SDHFT)

Virtual Fracture Clinic

  • Infection Prevention & Control Team
  • Ophthalmic Department

Volunteer Awards (TSDHCT)

Experts by Experience

  • Christine Tucker
  • Jon Andrewes gave extra mention to the Community Meals Delivery Service. Dorothy Norris and Jayne Woodward were presented with flowers in recognition of their service.

Volunteer Awards (SDHFT)

Pat Bishop

Torbay Hospital Choir

Partnership (TSDHCT)

  • Natalie Aldridge
  • Tavistock Health & Social Care Team & Devon Onward Care

TSDHCT/SDHFT Physiotherapy Rapid Access MSK Service

Partnership (SDHFT)

Kay Parkinson Founder of Alstrom Syndrome UK

TSDHCT/SDHFT Physiotherapy Rapid Access MSK Service

Equality & Diversity (TSDHCT)

Lisa Houlihan and Dementia Champions in the 11 Community Hospitals

Equality & Diversity (SDHFT)

Charlotte Smith

Sustainability (TSDHCT)

Richard Tregidgo

Sustainability (SDHFT)

Kerra Thomson

Em Jeffries Award Lifetime Achievement (TSDHCT)

Jacqueline Murden

League of Friends Lifetime Achievement Award (SDHFT)

  • Catherine Millyard
  • Frances Hunt