Health and social care staff shine in the spotlight

Published: 12 June 2015

NHS staff and volunteers from across Torbay and Southern Devon have been recognised at an awards ceremony celebrating their hard work and dedication to health and social care.

The Blue Shield awards ceremony which took place this week (Wednesday 10 June), was the fifth joint awards ceremony hosted by Torbay and Southern Devon Health and Care NHS Trust and South Devon Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, which runs Torbay Hospital. The awards aim to recognise individuals or groups whose energy, commitment and dedication ensures that high quality and effective services are delivered to patients, services user and staff.

The event, which was held at Torquay’s Riviera International Conference Centre, saw around 300 members of staff, volunteers and their guests turn out to see the winners announced. Nominations are made anonymously, by both members of the public and by staff, and are judged by a panel of experts and independent members.

There were 19 winners and 13 highly commended awards across 16 categories, including individual, team, partnership, innovation, volunteer and lifetime achievement.

Certificates were presented by Mandy Seymour-Hanbury (Chief Executive) and Dr Jon Andrewes (Chairman) of Torbay and Southern Devon Health and Care NHS Trust, and Mairead McAlinden (Chief Executive) and Sir Richard Ibbotson (Chairman) of South Devon Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust.

Mandy Seymour-Hanbury, Chief Executive at Torbay and Southern Devon Health and Care NHS Trust, said: “I would like to congratulate everyone who received an award at this year’s ceremony, as well as all those who were nominated. It really is a privilege to work with people who are so dedicated, enthusiastic and committed to providing high quality health and social care to the people of Torbay and Southern Devon.

“Our staff and volunteers are at the very heart of the organisation and the Blue Shield Awards ceremony is an excellent way to recognise those who excel at what they do.”

Mairead McAlinden, Chief Executive of South Devon Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust said: “I am incredibly proud of all staff and volunteers who work at the Hospital but to have the opportunity to reward those people who are making a real difference to patients and staff is truly heart-warming.

“Everybody that was nominated and shortlisted deserves a big ‘thank you’ for their hard work and commitment to offering high quality health services. All of the award winners deserve recognition for their exceptional dedication to the health service.”

Blue Shield Award winners 2015:

Torbay and Southern Devon Health and Care NHS Trust

Individual Non Clinical
Caroline Smith (Winner)
Tim Coysh (Highly commended)

Individual Clinical
Carole Fisher (Winner)
Kirsty Penman (Highly commended)
Dave Hanes (Highly commended)

Team Non Clinical
Torbay Carers Telephone Line (Winner)
Procurement (Highly commended)

Team Clinical
Newton Abbot Minor Injuries Unit (Winner)
Newton Abbot Community Nursing Team (Winner)

Helen Schafer (Winner)
Dorothy Walker (Highly commended)

Sensory Team (Winner)
Sam Rosindale (Highly commended)

Michael Rowe (Winner)
Claire McGrath (Winner)

Em Jeffries Lifetime Achievement
Michelle Ward
Julie Foster

South Devon Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Individual Non Clinical
John Dickinson (Winner)
Richard Ryalls (Highly commended)

Individual Clinical
Sarah Tobin (Winner)
Sheela Marsden (Highly commended)

Team Non Clinical
Temporary Staffing Department (Winner)
Ward Clerks – Ricky Grant and Turner wards (Highly commended)

Team Clinical
Integrated Heart Failure Nursing Service (Winner)
Osteoporosis/Fracture Liaison (Highly commended)

Rheumatology (Winner)
Hand Surgery (Highly commended)

Integrated Care Organisation (ICO) Team (Winner)
Torbay Sexual Medicine Service (Highly commended)

Gillian Hoult (Winner)
Hayley Barrett & Christine Whitehead (Highly commended)

League of Friends Lifetime Achievement Award
Alison White