Only two weeks left to nominate your healthcare heroes for a Blue Shield Award!

Blue Shield Awards

Published: 18 November 2016

Nominations are now open to recognise the hard work and dedication of health and social care staff across Torbay and South Devon. However, the deadline for nominations to be received, Friday 2 December 2016, is fast approaching.

The Blue Shield Awards, organised by Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust, are held annually to celebrate the people who go above and beyond in their role and help to make a real difference to health and social care.

There are a total of six categories within the awards including individual, team, innovation and research, partnership, volunteer, and the Em Jeffries Award for Community and Social Care Development.

Mairead McAlinden, Chief Executive of Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust, said: “Our staff and volunteers work really hard to make sure that anyone who needs our services gets the best possible care. I see and hear about how they go beyond the call of duty each and every day to make this happen.

“So our Blue Shield Awards are an opportunity to recognise the people who are making a real difference in our health and social service, and it also gives us a very visible way to share and celebrate our successes, telling the stories of the great work that is going and the improvements that are benefitting the people of South Devon and Torbay.

“If you know of a member of staff, a team or a volunteer who you think deserves an award, please take the time to find out how you can nominate them for an award. Being nominated means so much and really boosts morale, so it is really worth doing!”

Nominations can be made online via or you can pick up a paper form at Torbay Hospital or your local community hospital. Alternatively, you can email Penny Gates or contact 01803 210565 to be sent a nomination form.

The deadline for nominations to be received is Friday 2 December 2016. The winners of the Blue Shield Awards 2016 will be announced at an award ceremony on Tuesday 21 March 2017.