Local health and social care staff shine in the spotlight

Staff Hero Awards

Published: 4 October 2019

Outstanding staff and volunteers from across Torbay and South Devon health and social care services have been recognised at an awards ceremony celebrating their hard work and dedication.

Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust’s first ever ‘Staff Heroes’ awards ceremony took place last week (Thursday 26 September) recognising individuals or groups whose energy, commitment and dedication is making a real difference to their colleagues or to the people who are receiving health and social care in the local area.

Staff, volunteers and their guests attended the event, which was held at the Grand Hotel, Torquay. Nominations are made throughout the year by members of the public and by staff, and were judged by a panel of experts and independent members.

The Trust’s Strategic Estates Partnership – SDH Innovations Partnership – kindly sponsored the awards ceremony alongside the Trust’s Charitable Funds.

This year there were seven award categories as well as a special ‘Chairman’s Award’. Award categories included strengthening partnerships, wellbeing at work, individual awards (support services / clinical services), team award, sharing information and prevention and staying well.

Trophies and certificates were presented by members of the Trust’s Executive Team including Liz Davenport (Chief Executive) and Sir Richard Ibbotson (Chairman).

Liz Davenport, Chief Executive of Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust, said: “We want to make a special effort to say a very public ‘thank you’ to those people who are doing exceptional work so I would like to say a very big ‘well done’ to our winners as well as our finalists!

“These awards are our way of recognising those staff and volunteers who make a real difference to the people who use our services or to the staff they support. Sharing their stories and hearing what they achieve is inspirational and truly heart-warming, and I was very proud to be part of this event.

“We received so many nominations and everyone deserves to be recognised for their hard work and commitment to great care. I would also like to say thank you to those who submitted the nominations for taking the time and effort to share their appreciation.”

Sir Richard Ibbotson, Chairman of Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust, said: “I am privileged that my role permits me to go out and about and meet staff from across the Trust. It really is an honour to work with people who are so enthusiastic and committed to providing high quality health and social care to the people of Torbay and South Devon.

“I would like to congratulate everyone who received an award at this year's ceremony, as well as all those who were nominated. The Staff Heroes Awards are one of the ways we recognise our staff and volunteers and acknowledge the positive impact they make on the lives of local people.

“I would also like to say a special ‘thank you’ to our sponsors too, SDH Innovations Partnership alongside the Trust’s Charitable Funds, as without them the awards ceremony would not have been possible.”

If you know someone who you think deserves to be at the awards next year, nominate them (an individual or a team) for a ‘Staff Heroes’ award by visiting: www.tsdft.uk/staffheroes

Staff Heroes Award winners 2019:

Outstanding contribution to ‘Strengthening Partnerships’

Winner Susan Bywaters – Equipment Lead

Finalist The Windmill Centre

Finalist Phillippa Lovell – Work Experience Co-ordinator / NHS Careers School Liaison

Outstanding contribution to ‘Wellbeing at Work’
Paul Norrish – Digital Learning Manager

Finalist Dr Jonathan White – Junior Doctor

Finalist Sarah Burns – Freedom to Speak Up Guardian

Outstanding contribution to ‘Right Care, Right Place – Individual Frontline Care / Clinical Services’
Angie Abbott – Head of Podiatry and Orthotics

Finalist Carley Dore – Speech and Language Therapist

Finalist Louise Challis – Respiratory & Neonatal Nurse, Children’s Community Team

Outstanding contribution to ‘Right Care, Right Place – Individual Support Services’

Winner Lin Taylor – Pharmacy Purchasing/Computer Systems Manager

Finalist Michael Hawley – Wayfinder

Finalist Lorraine Thompson – Sensory, Disability Information Service & Accessible Information Lead

Outstanding contribution to ‘Right Care, Right Place – Team Award’
Children’s Speech and Language Therapy Team

Finalist Theatres Team

Finalist Breast Care Unit

Outstanding contribution to ‘Sharing Information’
Victoria Peters – Health Visitor

Finalist John Broom and the Blue Badge Team

Finalist Anna Pryor – Staff Governor

Outstanding contribution to ‘Prevention and Staying Well’
Winner Sarah Levio and Podiatry Team

Finalist Newton Abbot Community Transport

Finalist Specialist Midwives and Matrons Team

Chairman’s Award
Theatres Team

Winner Individual clinical on behalf of Angie Abbott

Winner Lin Taylor Individual Support

Winner Paul Norrish wellbeing at Work

Winner Prevention and Staying Well Sarah Levio and Podiatry Team

Winner Sharing Information Victoria Peters

Winner Team Award Speech and Language Therapy

Winners Strengthening partnerships on behalf of Susan Bywaters

Chairmans Award winner Theatres Team